RSS Feed

Wot? No Paper Towels?

Posted on

No, not in my house, paper towels/kitchen rolls are banned. This is one of those convenience things that I don’t find convenient; plus, one of my grandmothers raised four children without them and if you can do that without paper towels, they probably aren’t really necessary.

In lieu of paper towels, I have two stacks of clothes. The everyday stack consists of durable, high quality square cotton cloths that I got from Ikea, I think, but you can pick them up at most places really. When the a cloth from the everyday stack gets a stain or a hole, it goes into the second stack as a rag, which I don’t mind destroying if I have too. I use the everyday clothes for every cleaning chore I have, including the shower. If I need a bit of scouring action, then I just sprinkle baking soda/soda bicarbonate on what I am cleaning and scrub. I’ve used this current set of cloths for toilet training messes, flu season, renovating the house, and camping, and they are still in great shape. To clean them, I just chuck them into the washer with the white load and call it a day. The rag set I use if I think I won’t be able to get one clean again, like when we were caulking the house.

So why the irrational dislike of paper towels? Well, on top of the fact that they are more or less completely unnecessary, I’d rather have the trees planted somewhere instead of being binned after one use. I don’t want to waste the money on them, and I don’t find that it creates any extra work to wash the cloths instead. This current set of cloths has lasted me for five years, for less than the cost of a pack of paper towels. So why should I like paper towels?

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

