RSS Feed

One way to get a tea cozy from things lying about the house

Posted on

We drink quite a lot of tea in our house, and I like to have a pot warm all morning. I was getting frustrated because the tea would go cold in the pot before I could drink it all, and I ended up throwing it away. A tea cozy would have been an obvious solution, except that our tea pot is a bit taller and slimmer than a regular tea pot, and I couldn’t find a pattern that fit. At the same time, towards the end of the winter, my husband wore an irreparable hole in the sleeve of his sweater and flat out refused to have a patch put on it. Faced with having to throw out the sweater, I debated whether I could somehow solve my tea cozy issue.

So here is how I got a tea cozy from a sweater sleeve without sewing a stitch:

First, I unpicked the seam at the shoulder so it would be easier to work with. Then I cut off material at the cuff and shoulder ends to get the appropriate length.

 Parts

 

Then, working on the wrong side, I used a twisty tie to close the top end.

 wrong side out

 

Finally, I turned it right side out,

 Right side out

 

and voilá, tea cozy!

 on the pot

 

A word, though, about an oversight on my part… I forgot to wash the sweater before I put the tea cozy together, and every time I put it on a warm pot of tea, the scent of my husband’s cologne wafted up into my face. It wasn’t exactly what you expected from a pot of tea, but I will certainly remember to wash my recycled cloth before I use it next time.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

One response »

  1. I miss my sweater but I’m glad that after it finished it’s jurney – it can now serve this way. Way to go!
    love, DD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

