RSS Feed

Lavender-induced musings

Posted on

We have three rather scraggly lavender shrubs in our garden, and I noticed yesterday that they were beginning to flower.  Not being one to waste an opportunity, I ran out and cut off the blooms that hadn’t opened yet.  I know that it is supposed to be better to do during a full moon, apparently the scent is much stronger, but I am travelling this week and not home much.  The buds are now hanging in my garage, drying out for future projects.  Currently, I am favoring making lavender sachets out of the dried buds, but I may change my mind. 

The point is, however, that we’ve been conditioned to look to stores for supplies before looking to our own environment.  If I wanted to make lavender sachets, I could always pop down to the craft store and buy all the specially designed parts.  I won’t though, because I have the lavender in my garden, the scrap fabric will be in my cloth storage, and I am certainly capable of coming up with a torn nylon or two for the lining.  Not everyone is going to have lavender in their garden, obviously, but everyone will have varied resources for inspiration.  For instance, Martha Stewart had an entire section on pine cone crafts last year, which I might try this year.  (Incidentally, pine cones can be dried in a low oven, like after you’ve turned it off from baking something else.)

It is not that I have more time or talent than other people, but that I would rather work at home with my daughter on these kinds of projects than run around the shops looking for something pre-made.  I am also willing to tone down my expectations of myself and others, particularly when it comes to hand-made items.  These days, we can mostly buy what we want, but I find I don’t always want what I can buy.  I much prefer small tokens of time, talent, and resourcefulness instead.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

