RSS Feed

Another tea cozy from things lying around the house

Posted on

I picked up a new pair of knitting needles this past weekend and I wanted to try them out on something short and sweet.  I was also a bit unhappy with my current tea cozy, as it does look a bit like an old sleeve and smells of cologne every time I put it on the tea pot.  So I took some leftover yarn I had from making something like this no knit scarf and started to knit a custom cozy.  I basically modified a stocking hat pattern, making it a bit longer.  It turned out so well that I actually unpicked the scarf, which the yarn wasn’t heavy enough for anyway, and knitted to the end.

Unpieced, it looked like this.

unpieced_cozy

 Here’s what it looks like finished.

pieced_cozy

And here it is on my teapot.

cozy_teapot

As a bonus, because I custom knitted it, it also fits on my coffee press, even while the coffee is steeping.

cozy_press

Finally, this took so little time to put together that I am making one for a neighbor as a gift, though in black rather than eggplant…

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

