RSS Feed

Reflections on a scarf, or two

Posted on

Last year I found a scarf that I thought my husband might like, and even though it was a far bit pricier than I would normally pay for a scarf, I bought it anyway for our wedding anniversary.  Husband did indeed like the scarf and wore it a few times during the winter, but feels that it is slightly too heavy to wear in London.  He has it up in his closet, but it rarely sees any use.  Don’t you hate it when that happens?

One day, while doing battle with the too thick scarf, he asked me why I simply couldn’t make him one. I’ll go to the yarn shop given any excuse, so I took Husband along with me and let him pick out the yarn.  He poked around the store until he found a silk/wool mix in a weight he liked and then chose the color.  Back home, I quizzed him on width, edging, patterns, etc. and told him that he can tell me when the scarf is long enough to stop.  Husband is quite happy to be able to specify his gift exactly and forgo being surprised, apparently especially when it comes to scarves.   Thankfully, he wants just a simple knit, so I have something to do tomorrow on the train that doesn’t require an extra pattern.

I am sharing this only to demonstrate how much effort and money we can squander when, in reality, a gift of some time and a skill will suffice.  I am not by any means an accomplished knitter; I have to pull out the instructions every time I want to cast on.  I don’t have gobs of time either; I only knit if I am watching TV or a movie and have nothing else to do (or am stuck on a train).  Still, the scarf will be made with love and patience, with me honoring him simply by doing something for him that he wants.  It’s a shame we have gotten away from that.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

One response »

  1. Pingback: A scarf for Husband, finally « Austerity and Prosperity

Leave a Reply

