RSS Feed

GF peanut butter cookies

Posted on

Yesterday’s post was a bit melancholy on my part, so I thought a cookie recipe might be a nice antidote. This is one of those recipes that was GF before I got hold of it, and I only had to tweak it a little bit. I also like this recipe because it only needs one egg and a bit of sugar.

PB Cookies

Mix together

1 c. Natural creamy peanut butter (chunky might work, but natural creamy works best)

¾ c. Sugar

1 egg

1 tsp. Vanilla extract (use less sugar if using vanilla sugar)

 

Scoop by tablespoonful onto a greased cookie sheet. At this point, there are a few options. First, you can leave the little balls and bake them a bit longer, which makes the center very yummy. Second, you can press them flat with the bottom of a sugar coated glass, but this makes them too dry for my taste. Third, you can flatten them slightly with a fork, which is how I like them, but that is how my mom used to make them. Lastly, you can use your thumb to press them down a bit, which is nice practice for children.

Bake at 350 F/ Gas Mark 4/ 180 C for 15 – 20 minutes. I turn the oven off slightly before to prevent burning.

As a final note, you can also use almond or hazelnut butter in place of peanut butter. You might need to adjust the amount of sugar you use, but this is entirely at your discretion.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

One response »

  1. Better yet, I think I will piggy-back off of yours and let you know the results of my experiments. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

