RSS Feed

One way to get breakfast from leftover rice

Posted on

I’ve mentioned before that breakfast is a tough time for me, since I never know what to eat.  It took me a few years, though, to realize that I could eat the ever-present glut of leftover (usually brown) rice in ways that were much more appetizing than pouring hot milk over it.

A current favorite solution is to make rice pudding.  It uses a nice amount of rice, not so many eggs, and probably less sugar than what is in most breakfast cereals.  On top of that, it easily goes into the oven when something else is already in, and it sits nicely on the bottom shelf for some abusively long period of time without drying out.  I serve it with fresh fruit or a compote too, just to add in some vitamins.

The recipe I use is the basic one here at Hillbilly Housewife, but I don’t dot with margarine.  I also use 1/4 cup sugar instead, and I add in cinnamon and sometimes vanilla in place of nutmeg (but not always).  I sometimes also throw in a handful of raisins or mixed dried fruit.  If I want to be extra fancy, I will sprinkle the finished pudding with vanilla sugar straight out of the oven.  (In retrospect, I suppose it’s more accurate to say that the ratio of rice to eggs and milk that I use is listed in the HBHW recipe…)

I will serve this for breakfast every once in awhile, especially during the week.  If I make it the night before, I just leave it in the oven uncovered and don’t have to worry about anything in the morning.  Any leftovers can be put back into a cold oven, although I suppose it probably shouldn’t be out longer than 24 hours, but I’m not sure since most things get eaten before then in our house.

Finally, I’ve been toying with the idea of baking fresh fruit on the bottom of this, with a bit of butter and sugar, and then adding the rice mixture on top, so if anyone tries this, please let me know how it works out.  Enjoy!

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

2 responses »

  1. Will try the recipe with few drops of stevia instead of sugar, brown basmati rice, and almond milk or maybe coconut milk. I am now off of dairy, gluten, and sugar…not to mention caffeine, flax oil, red meat. It all has terrible side-effects for me!! Am hoping that it will pass, but have a feeling these are permanent dietary changes. Can you imagine? So I am getting very creative on the cooking front. 🙂 And appreciate freshly squeezed juices to the nth degree. Was going to invest in a fancy-dancy juicer but some friends told me that they have already gone through three to no avail. Their trick? The magic bullet mixer to-go cup. Definitely worth a try. There is my food two-cents. You might inspire me to start my own blog about the adventures of my new diet!! Happy Day Kara.

    Reply
  2. I would think coconut milk and tofu would make a nice combination, in place of regular milk and eggs. It might take a bit more flavoring though, but would work nicely with cinnamon, nutmeg, and/or vanilla.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

