RSS Feed

GF “breadcrumbs”

Posted on

I just wanted to pass this on, since I use this regularly when I need breadcrumbs for breading.  I don’t like the GF breadcrumbs that are sold in stores because they seem a bit, er, gritty.  I use oatbran instead, because oats don’t bother me.  I just shake the oatbran onto a plate and use it as you would breadcrumbs.  If I am feeling extra healthy, I might add some ground flaxseed.

The only thing that you have to be careful of is the oil temperature.  If it is too hot, it will burn the oatbran, which lends a rather nasty flavor to whatever it is that you are frying.  Otherwise, it works fairly well.  Husband doesn’t prefer oatbran over regular breadcrumbs, but definitely prefers it to GF breadcrumbs.  Daughter prefers oatbran over regular breadcrumbs, but that could be just because she has been raised with it.

I’ve seen some recipes that use parmesan cheese as a coating for broccoli and cauliflower, but the oatbran has that nice breaded look to it and a more neutral flavor.  Plus I at least feel like I am getting some fibre out of the fried food when I am eating it too (self-delusion?). 

Obviously, if you don’t eat oats, then oatbran is probably not a reasonable breading solution.  I haven’t had any problems with oatbran, and I just buy the regular one off of the shelf at the store.  I don’t even know if they make a coeliac-friendly oatbran, but I probably wouldn’t fork out the money for it anyway. 

Using oatbran as a breading allowed me to start cooking some old favorites again, like fried cauliflower or cheese. Try it out and let me know how it works for you.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

