RSS Feed

Fuzzy scarves for the girls

Posted on

I just wanted to update you on the scarves I ended up knitting described in the Bargain Yarn post.  We had a long car trip over the weekend, so I was able to finish both of them then.  Husband was a bit apprehensive about me knitting in the car, given the needles, but I’m not really one to sit around with idle hands.

Here they are, those fuzzy, colorful scarves.

sal_small

I cast on thirteen stitches onto American size 13 needles and knitted garter stitch until I got to the right length. I am a slow knitter, but each scarf took me about four hours all together, mostly while I was doing something else.

The scarves will be Christmas presents, but one is for Husband’s goddaughter and the other is for Daughter. The girls are friends with each other, but rarely get to see each other since they live in different countries, so I thought it would be nice if they had something matching to remind them of each other.  I lucked out too, because she knows that her friend is getting one, but doesn’t know that she is getting an identical one.

Now, if I can keep it hidden from her until Christmas, then it will be a nice surprise…

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

