RSS Feed

Freezing bananas

Posted on

I know it ‘s Monday, but it’s a busy, busy day today for me.  I just have  a quick tip today, to avoid throwing out slightly brown bananas.  The minute I think they are getting too soft, I just drop them as is in the freezer, still in their peel.  Once they have frozen, they can stay in the freezer indefinitely, although it sometimes helps me if I keep them in a bag to keep them together.

Frozen bananas can be used anywhere mashed bananas are needed.  I just thaw the banana in a bowl, cut the top off, and squeeze.  It is a bit runnier and browner than mashed fresh bananas, but it doesn’t affect flavour.  I use them mostly in baked goods, but I know of at least one person who grinds them frozen into smoothies. 

It isn’t often that bananas last long enough in our house to make it past the ripe stage, but I like having a back-up plan in case they do.  It’s also nice to occasionally be able to whip up a banana cake or bread without having to run to the store, or worse, stash bananas somewhere where they won’t be eaten beforehand.  I noticed last night that there are enough bananas to bake, so I’ll be posting at least once banana recipe soon.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

