RSS Feed

Breakfast pudding

Posted on

I am one of those weird people who is always picking through the reduced bin at the grocer.  Particularly, I look for crushed or soon to be stale GF bread, which I freeze for a rainy day.  Actually, I freeze it so that I can make bread pudding sometime when I have nothing else for breakfast and the oven is going to be on the night before.  I bake the bread pudding in the bottom of the oven and leave it there overnight.  In the morning, I just turn the oven back on for ten minutes to warm the bread pudding, and, voila, hot GF breakfast.

The recipe I use is based on one of Miss Maggie’s recipes here, but I can’t leave well enough alone.  Here is what I actually do –

Beat together 2 c of milk or coconut milk with 3 eggs in a big bowl.  Add in 1/3 c brown sugar, along with some cinnamon and whatever else goes with your other flavorings.  Beat together until thoroughly combined.  Tear GF bread (frozen or thawed, it doesn’t matter) into the bowl and let soak for a few minutes.  Dump into a greased 8 x 8 dish or pie dish and bake at the bottom of the oven with whatever else you’re baking, at that temperature.  Warm in the morning in a medium oven for about ten minutes

The fun part about this is that you can let your imagination run wild.  For instance, you can add in jam or mashed bananas with the other wet ingredients.  You can also add in raisins, or any other dried fruit.  We will also mix in shredded coconut, apple chunks, or even pear sometimes.  I just make sure that it has some fruit and fiber in it, to make it filling enough for breakfast.  I’ve even put leftover compote on top and baked until crispy.  The only thing to keep in mind is the sweetness of it all, i.e. if you are going to add in something sweet, then reduce the brown sugar slightly.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you so much for this idea! I love your blog – thank you for letting me visit.
    Linda – the sewing granny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

