RSS Feed

Freezing zucchini

Posted on

This is a quick tip just in case you actually have any zucchini left.  My apologies for not posting it earlier, but we didn’t get around to dealing with the surplus zucchini until this week anyway. 

You can freeze zucchini, and it is fairly straightforward and simple (I really wouldn’t do it, otherwise).  Grate your zucchini into a bowl.  I do this by hand, but I suppose you could also use a food processor, if you had one.  Take your regular-sized muffin tin and scoop 1/2 c of grated zucchini into each muffin cup.  Press it down firmly, and place in freezer. 

Once the zucchini is thoroughly frozen, after about eight hours or overnight, take the tin out of the freezer.  Pop the zucchini mounds out of the muffin tin (I use my offset spatula) and then put back in the freezer in a freezer bag .  Since I use about 1 cup of grated zucchini when I cook or bake, I just pull out two mounds and let them thaw.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

One response »

  1. O Man – what a Wonderful idea!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thank you so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

