RSS Feed

Rolled oat macaroons

Posted on

I just recently tried out this Homefront recipe, and I knew I had a hit when I didn’t even have any left to put out on a plate.  These little cookies are very yummy, perfect for after-school snacks, and ideal for coffee.  I will also give credit where credit is due, as I adapted from one of Marguerite Patten’s recipes by the same name (from We’ll Eat Again).

Cream together 1/3 c margarine and 1/3 c sugar with 1 Tbl golden syrup. (If you don’t have golden syrup, I think honey would work well.)  Add roughly 1 tsp of flavoring, be it vanilla extract, almond extract, strawberry or coffee liquor (2 tsp for these), or whatever you have on hand (Monin syrups work well too).  Now cut in 3/4 cup GF flour and 1 1/4 cups rolled oats.  Once this is well mixed, bind the mixture with 1 -2 Tbl milk or water. 

Scoop little balls of 2 Tbls of dough onto your cookie sheet, slightly less than the size of a ping pong ball.  Bake at 350 F/ 180 C/ Gas Mark 4 for 15 minutes or until nice and brown.  Since these are GF, they will stay nice little round balls, which is a nice change of shape.

One bonus of this dough is that it has no eggs, so Daughter helped me put the balls on the baking sheets and ate a few when I wasn’t looking.  So, I think you might get at least 22 cookies out of this, but you might get more if you have less help. = )

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

