RSS Feed

Menu for the end of the month blues

Posted on

It is a bitter end of the month this month.  I don’t know what happened, but I am scratching around in the cupboards like a hen, trying to dig up dinner (and breakfast, and sometimes lunch).  I think that many Homefront wives must have had the same issue when the rations were out but the week wasn’t over.  Luckily, I still have some milk and cheese, along with a few eggs, so we aren’t completely out on a limb.

Here is tonight’s sample menu, based on what little I have left in the kitchen:

Kohlrabi and carrot soup

Risi i bisi (rice and peas, but no cheese)

Cucumber salad

Apple and celery salad

I will also probably bake up a batch of oatmeal macaroons, along with a cake of some sort too, and a batch of zucchini muffins from frozen zucchini.  My two eggs are going off tomorrow, so I need to use them, and I probably need a little something sweet to fill out the edges of this dinner.  I will also, while I am at, be turning our one lonely eggplant into a spread for breakfast tomorrow.

This is the way it goes in our house, particularly in my kitchen.  I swear that the cupboards are bare, the fridge is empty, and the freezer does not have enough in it to yield any meal, and then I buckle down and figure out what I can do.  Somehow, a little planning and ingenuity get us on to the next day with a healthy, filling meal.  I just wish that I had Kitchen Front broadcasts to listen to in the morning…

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

