RSS Feed

What to do with leftover tea…

Posted on

This cake disappears whenever I make it, but it’s also nice enough to serve to visitors and guests, if I can keep it around.  Obviously, it goes quite well with tea, because it has tea in it, but I suppose it could also go with coffee, since the tea flavor isn’t strong.  It is also a very easy cake to make vegan or GFCF, since it has no milk or eggs in it.  Er, it goes almost without saying that the tea in the recipe is English black tea, but vary at will and let me know how it goes.

Cream 1/2 c sugar into 1/3 c of margarine and cut in 1 1/2 c GF flour until well incorporated.  Add in a pinch of salt, and 1 tsp of cinnamon and baking powder respectively.  Add in 1/2 to 1 c of dried fruit, such as raisins or dried fruit mix, but make sure it is going to go well with the sweetener you are using.  In a measuring cup, measure out 1 1/2 c of cold tea or milk (or both), plus 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 Tbl of golden syrup/ molasses/ honey/ jam (whatever you have around that goes well with the dried fruit you’re using).  Beat thoroughly together and then beat into the dry ingredients.

Turn batter into a greased round pan and bake at 350 F/ C/ Gas Mark 4 until done, about 30 minutes.  I don’t bother icing this cake, because I think it is fine as is.   However, if you wanted to ice this cake, dusting it with confectioner’s sugar would probably be best.

The recipe actually comes from an MoF radio show, which is transcribed in Spuds, Spam and Eating for Victory.  I’ve converted the recipe to US measures and tweaked it a bit to current tastes.  I do love this recipe though.  I make this cake whenever I need to fill oven space, because I usually have all of its ingredients lying around the kitchen.  It has a nice, buttery taste, and I think it would taste lovely with dried cherries if you had them.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

