RSS Feed

Salvaging things for free

Posted on

After cleaning out Daughter’s toy box the other day, I was left with a bunch of broken bits and bobs that seemed bound for either the recycling bin or the landfill.  This in itself irritates me, because I dislike things that break easily and with very little use (please don’t get me started on immersion mixers), but when I took a closer look at my pile of broken treasures, I discovered that some of them could be salvaged.

In particular, Daughter had gone through a few of the flashing jewel princess pieces, and these had watch batteries in them.  I pried the bits apart to rescue out the batteries, and realized that I would also be able to save the “jewel” plastic piece for some craft project.  I wasn’t able to do anything with the other broken bits, but finding four watch batteries to have on hand is five minutes well spent for us.

I wonder how much other stuff gets trashed for want of a little curiosity and a phillips-head screwdriver…

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

