RSS Feed

GF Hallowe’en cookies

Posted on

I was inspired to try out this recipe recently because I needed to use up my carrots.  As I was making up these cookies, I thought that their brilliant orange color would make them perfect for Hallowe’en…

The original recipe is from Marguerite Patten’s We’ll eat again (p. 83).  I haven’t changed anything, except to make it GF.

Beat 1 TBL of margarine with 2 TBL of sugar and a bit of flavoring (vanilla or almond works well, or even orange zest).  Beat this mixture until fluffy, which is where I went wrong the first time I made these.  Beat in 4 TBL of freshly grated carrot, and then fold in 6 TBL of GF flour with 1/2 tsp baking powder.

Drop by tablespoon full onto greased baking sheet and gently flatten with the bottom of a glass.  Bake for 15 – 20 minutes at 350 F/ 180 C/ Gas Mark 4.  Makes 10 -12 cookies, so you can double the recipe if you need to.

Surprisingly, you can’t really taste the carrot in these.  It lends the cookie more of a sweetness than anything, with a slightly coconut texture.  I think you could probably top these cookies with raisins or currants too.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

