RSS Feed

Quick blender fruit snack

Posted on

Admittedly, this is not an MoF recipe, but it is a modified version of a mid-1940’s Waring Blendor recipe.  I throw this together when I need to feed Daughter something quick, but satisfying. 

Blend 1 scant cup canned apricots (no juice) with 2 TBL of rolled oats, 2 TBL of the juice from the can, and 1/2 to 1 cup of milk, depending on how thick you want the smoothie.  You can also add in a dash of cinnamon or nutmeg.

I suppose this would work with most canned fruits, but I haven’t tried it.  I like this because it doesn’t have too much sugar, but it does have fibre, fruit, and milk (and nothing else).  Notice that there is no yogurt in the recipe, as yogurt was unknown to British and American palates at the time.  You could use it partly in place of milk, but I was trying to stay true to the times.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

5 responses »

  1. This sounds good. I may try it some time. I found a good cookbook that I got from gutenberg.org. Foods That Will Win the War and How To Cook Them. It is from 1918 and has some gluten free recipes and others that sound good as well. It is in the public domain in America.

    Reply
  2. I sort of tried this recipe, and it was good. I used thawed, half freeze dried mango, because it needed to be used up, and it was good, the oats worked well.
    I got “Eating for Victory”, and it looks like it has many good recipes.

    Reply
    • Oh, mango, yum. I used peaches the other week, and it came out nicely. I added a bit more milk though, so that it was more of a milk cocktail. Daughter liked it too. Have fun with the recipes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

