RSS Feed

Home Front Advent Calendar

Posted on

Technically, Advent started yesterday, but I never start my Advent calendars until Dec 1.   This year, I decided against going with a sugar-filled one for a number of reasons.  To start, this is the first year that I have a calendar I can fill; I previously just bought the chocolate ones, but finally found one last year that can be re-used.  Secondly, I am trying to wean back Daughter’s dependence on sweets, especially at the holidays.  Finally, and most importantly, Advent is not about chocolate, but about preparing one’s self for Christmas.

From a Home Front perspective, a Mother undoubtedly would have been saving her sugar and candy rations for Christmas, especially since chocolate would have fallen under the candy ration.  Children had to do without in order to have a sweeter Christmas.  None of the books I’ve read describe Advent during the war, but I imagine that they might have come up with something like an Advent chain.

The one I found here started yesterday, but I am going to have it start tomorrow.  I decided against making the chain itself, but will put the slips in the little drawers of the Advent calendar I have instead.  I might occasionally tuck in a chocolate or a sweet, but I like how this Advent chain focuses on acts of preparation rather than eating.

For those who are just looking for a coloring page for advent, I think this one would do in a pinch.

Tomorrow, I will post pictures of the Advent wreath Sister-in-Law made yesterday…

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

