RSS Feed

Ginger Brandy

Posted on

If you’re like me, you are going a bit stir crazy right now.  It’s right after the holidays, but nothing major is coming up soon, and spring is still weeks away.  The liquour cabinet is bulging with a number of bottles of stuff you either don’t recognize or wouldn’t ever touch, and, for some inexplicable reason, you have a pile of fresh ginger root at the back of your fridge.  So,

one bout of cabin fever + one surplus bottle of brandy + random ginger root = ginger brandy

To start, peel and finely chop a good1/3 to 1/2 c fresh ginger root.  (As a sidenote, the longer the brandy sits, the stronger the ginger gets, so please keep that in mind.  In other words, if you aren’t going to consume this all in about one month, I would aim for 1/3 c ginger, unless you really like your eyes to water when you drink.)  Combine one bottle of brandy (750 ml, or about three cups) with the ginger and let it steep somewhere cool and dark for a week.  After the week is over, strain the brandy into a large bowl or jar.  Take the ginger pieces and combine them in a saucepan with 1/3 c honey and 2/3 c water to make a simple honey syrup.  Bring to a simmer and cook gently until thickened, being careful not to burn yourself or others.  Let cool, and mix back into the brandy, ginger bits and all.  Give it a good shake or mix, pour into your storage bottle and enjoy.

I like ginger brandy on its own, neat.  You can also put it in tea for a hot toddy, or use it to make a light dressing for a fruit salad.  You could probably also use it somehow in baking, but I still like to drink it best.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

2 responses »

  1. ordinarybutinteresting

    Thx for the recipe!! I love ginger brandy but can’t find it out here in California. My east coast friends ship it to me when I ask but now I’m going to try this recipe instead 🙂

    Have a super day!!

    Reply
    • I love ginger brandy too, especially in the winter. I like ginger beer in the summer, but I’m still trying to get my ginger beer recipe to work.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

