RSS Feed

Lidded potatoes

Posted on

In honour of Milly-Molly-Mandy, I thought I might discuss lidded potatoes, Daughter’s new favourite meal.  In American terms, lidded potatoes are basically twice-baked potatoes, with the potato cap put back on.  Still, for some reason, Daughter likes lidded potatos better, and she has become quite suspicious of traditional twice-baked potatoes.

To start, you obviously need a baked potato for each person.  I have a trick, though, so that I don’t have to keep the oven on extra for baking potatoes.  I will either pre-bake or par-bake my potatoes on a day when I am baking something else, usually the day before.  I just put the scrubbed, pricked potatoes on the bottom of the oven, and they bake merrily away while all the other things are going.  Then, when I go to make the lidded potatoes, I check to see if they are baked through and pop them in for a few extra minutes if they aren’t.  If they are, then I just start with cool potatoes.

To make lidded potatoes, slice the top off just enough to be able to scoop out the insides, but leave enough skin intact so that it forms a kind of hinge on one side.  Scoop out the insides, leaving all the potato on the lid, and put the insides into a big bowl.  Mash with butter and milk, or whirl with the immersion blender.  Add salt and pepper to taste, plus whatever cheese you have on hand.  I quite like cheddar, but Husband is fond of stilton or other soft cheeses.  It’s up to you and your fridge.  Once your filling is well combined, gentle stuff each potato, sprinkle a bit of reserved cheese on top if you have it, and flip the lid back on the potato so that the insides are almost completely concealed.  Reheat in a medium oven for 15-20 minutes until the cheese is melted and the potato is hot.

Serve with cabbage salad and baked beans for a mid-week meal or weekend lunch.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

