RSS Feed

Egg dye, the old fashioned way

Posted on

I am so excited this year, I am actually going to dye eggs with natural products.  I know this sounds a bit goofy, but egg dye is a bit hard to come by over here.  Well, it used to be, and now it just seems that what is available is a vague Paas replacements (i.e. not quite right).   I had several egg dye kits packed away from previous years, but this is the first year that I don’t have any to use.

I’ll be using the method outlined by Martha Stewart here.  I thought I would mention it now because the onion skins in particular need saving up.  We always have beets and red cabbage around, not to mention coffee and tea.  I think the only thing I really have to get is the turmeric, but I might be able to borrow that one off of the neighbors…

Also, if you are wondering where eggs for dying would have come from during the War, I am willing to bet that the clever house wife actually blew her eggs out and dyed the shells.  If anyone knows, please let me know, also if anyone has any other ideas for natural dyes.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

2 responses »

  1. Have you ever visited crockpot365.blogspot.com? She used her slow cooker every day for a year. She cooks gluten free. She also wrote a book called “Make it fast, cook it slow”, and she has a lot of the recipes from it on her blog. I especially enjoyed the tapioca pudding, though I cut the sugar in half and would cut it further the next time I made it, and would cut the eggs as well. I made a half recipe, and it worked well.

    Reply
    • No, I haven’t. I’m not really a crockpot person, and I don’t own one, so I’m always a bit wary of trying crockpot recipes on the stove instead. I’ll check it out today though. Thanks for the tip!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

