RSS Feed

Rhubarb Crumble

Posted on

I’ve been completely absorbed in my dissertation lately, and I haven’t had much time to write anything else.  On the other hand, I finally couldn’t resist sharing at least one rhubarb recipe.  You see, it’s rhubarb season here, and if you’re like me and only buying things that are local and in season, there’s no fruit available.  So, rhubarb it is.  I was a bit skeptical about rhubarb before I tried it for the first time, since it reminds me so much of celery, but I’ve gotten over that and I’ve been pleasantly surprised.

This is a great introductory rhubarb recipe, because it is easy and tangy sweet.

Slice one generous pound rhubarb into a pot (about three big stalks) and pour in two tablespoons of golden syrup or ginger syrup, if you were smart enough to make it when you had extra ginger laying about (I wasn’t).  If you have used the golden syrup, you can also add in a splash of vanilla extract or strawberry liqueur.  Stir to coat and simmer gently on low until the rhubarb is soft.

Grease an 8×8 pyrex dish and pour in the softened rhubarb and juices.  In a separate bowl, finely cut a generous cup of GF flour into three tablespoons of butter if you can spare it (you could probably get away with two) and two tablespoons of sugar (it should be the consistency of breadcrumbs).  Sprinkle this mixture evenly on top of the rhubarb and bake in a medium oven for about 15 minutes.  The top will not brown, but the juices should start to bubble up.

Serve warm or cold alone or with lashings of custard.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

