RSS Feed

Summery Princess party

Posted on

Daughter has decided that she finally wants an honest birthday party, which is impossible around her birthday.  As a compromise, we’ve decided to hold a half-birthday party for her, with no presents.  Of course, she wants a princess party, so here is what I’m thinking about to keep the six little girls entertained…

Activities:

Musical statues (a bit like musical chairs)

Pin the crown on the princess, using my daughter as an outline for the princess

Croquet, if the weather is nice

Princess-themed bookmarks using wooden clothes pins and cut outs

Decorations:

I am stumped here.  Balloons and paper chains are probably going to be the extent of it, plus the usual table decorations

Party bags and prizes:

I have a stash of girlie erasers, stickers and things that I will probably use here, along with some candy.  I also grabbed some flowery pencils and markers to use as prizes.  I’ll also add in a cupcake and a freshly cut rose from our garden.

Food:

This is where I am going a bit crazy.  Of the six girls there, one is allergic to dairy and uncooked egg, another is a vegetarian, and a third is halal.  Plus it will all be gluten free.  Thankfully, the party is in the afternoon, so I don’t have to feed them too much.

Home-made lemonade

Strawberry and melon skewers

Crudite vegetables with hummus dip

Tea sandwiches with jam/ cucumber and veganaise on GF bread

I haven’t decided on the cake yet, because I want to discuss it with Daughter first, but I am going to make coconut cupcakes using coconut oil instead of butter for the party bags.

That is all I have so far, does anyone have any other suggestions?

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

