RSS Feed

Brainstorming one pot meals

Posted on

Oh, I detest the kitchen set up here.  I’d gladly trade the daily maid for a decent cooking environment, but it isn’t to be.  Because I only have two burners and one pot, I’ve spent the last few days brainstorming possible menus.

Here’s what I’ve come up with –

1.) Vegetable risotto (note to self – determine what kind of frozen vegetables you are buying before you buy them)

2.) Bacon hotpot

3.) Black bean soup with cornmeal fritters

4.) Chilli with cornmeal fritters

5.) Lentils and rice, with onions

6.) Noodles, in many different ways, but particularly with bryndza (a kind of sheep cheese) or tvaroh (like Quark) and dill

7.) Kapustnica, if the weather turns really bad

8.) Instant mashed potatoes made in the pot with something fried in the pan (suggestions?)

There, that’s eight ideas to get me through the week.  I’ve been scouring Crockpot 365 for other ideas, not because I have a crockpot, mind you, or that I’ve actually ever cooked with one, but there are some recipes there that I could convert to one pot meals with what I have available here.  Any other ideas?

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

