RSS Feed

Parsley, or something close to it

Posted on

I recently started shopping at a farmer’s market not far from our flat, and all of my carrots and parsnips come with the tops on.  The parsnip tops looked suspiciously like flat-leaf parsley, so I tasted it, and I’ll be darned if it didn’t also taste like parsley.  I’m not making any arguments about whether or not parsnip tops are actually flat-leaf parsley, but I will argue that parsnip tops make a good stand in for flat-leaf parsley.

Now, when I come back from the market, I wash the parsnip tops, chop them finely, and leave them to dry on a baking sheet on top of the radiator.  This supplies me with more than enough dried “parsley” to get me through the week, which means I don’t have to worry about buying it.  I love getting something from nothing, don’t you?

As a side note – I also wash my carrot tops and dry them whole on the radiator.  I use these in soup, one stalk per pot, to add extra flavor (I just don’t recommend eating them).

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

