RSS Feed

Cup for Cup review – Pancakes

Posted on

My father sent me a bag of Cup for Cup gluten free flour, with the request that I try it out to see how it works.  I gamely agreed to it, and I thought it would make a nice number of posts, since I rarely discuss what kind of GF flour blend I use most.

To be fair, I was a little put off by the price – $20 for 3 lbs, or thereabouts – especially since the ingredients are nothing special and are, in fact, quite similar to the GF flours you get through Schar and Dove Farms.  The Cup for Cup flour blend has milk powder in it, so it is not casein-free, but it does not contain soy flour (I don’t like GF mixes with soy flour in them).  My other caveat is that I am used to the GF blends we get in Europe, which are far superior to what you can get in the States (don’t ask me why, but it is true).

First off, I made whole grain pancakes.  I used a 50/50 ratio of my Schar whole grain GF mix and the Cup for Cup mix.  The mix came out gooey, much more so than normal.  It had the consistency of pudding, but I was afraid to thin it anymore.  Since it was so pudding like, the pancakes were thicker than normal, and not quite dry in the middle.  The taste was fine, but the consistency was a bit off.  We ate them, but I wasn’t too happy about how they came out.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

