RSS Feed

Cup for Cup Review – Round 3

Posted on

For my third test of Cup for Cup flour, I decided to make sticky gingerbread, with lots of treacle.  I had high hopes, because I love this gingerbread recipe and there isn’t much that can stand between me and this cake.  Luckily, Husband was also in the kitchen, watching me bake, and confirmed most of my impressions of this flour.

The batter came out quite unappetizingly gooey again, and the resulting cake was very spongy.  The taste wasn’t affected, but the texture was a bit off-putting, particularly because the cake tended to stick together once it was cut.  It also came out a bit damp again, with a vague texture of being undercooked, but the cake was done (if that makes any sense).

In other words, I have not been too impressed, and I would not buy this flour mix if it were up to me.  I understand that the GF mixes available in Europe tend to be a higher quality than what is available in the States, so maybe the Cup for Cup flour is the best available in the States.  However, based on what is available in Europe, I think the mix is lacking.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

