RSS Feed

A look into an austere new year…

Posted on

Ah, 2012.  Most people look forward to the new year, looking at it as an opportunity to start anew.  Here in the Czech Republic, we woke up to higher prices, as the VAT was raised on January 1, even on food.  Somewhere in the deep recesses of my mind, I knew there has been some talk about raising VAT, but it never registered that it was also on food.  Regardless of whether it was denial or a language barrier, everything in this country now costs more.  To put a cherry on top of that, Europe seems to be in the middle of yet another recession. So, to sum up

increased VAT + inflation + no rise in income = less money to spend on everything

Oh, and we also have to start paying for the actual amount of water we use, as opposed to a flat fee per person.  Anyone  who has gone through this conversion will tell you that it never works out in financial favor of the person using the water. I’m not against everyone paying their way waterwise, but I do question the timing. And to top that whole lot off, there is serious talk of raising income tax and power costs this year as well.  Hear that squeaking noise?  That is the screws tightening.

Did I mention that my husband is most likely going to lose his lunch plan benefit?

What this means for this blog is that I have even more reason to write it.  As such, I will be focusing this year on cutting food costs and taking steps to save water and power.  To mark this, I would like to institute a new feature about low-cost GF menus, and I think I’ll call it Double Dip Monday, in honor of our new round of European recession and austerity.

So, wishing you all a wonderful year, and here’s hoping that we come out better than how we started!

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

Leave a Reply

