RSS Feed

A frugal pancake recipe

Posted on

For Double Dip Monday today, I thought I’d post a recipe for an instant meal, more or less.  I frequently have some kind of frozen vegetable that I use for baking, such as zucchini or pumpkin, or a fruit such as frozen banana, hiding in the depths of my freezer and no plan for dinner.  I throw this together for the three of us, and it works most of the time.

1 cup of pumpkin puree/ grated zucchini/ mashed banana/ apple or pear sauce/ etc.

1-2 tablespoons of sugar, depending on how sweet you want your pancakes

2 tablespoons of oil

2 eggs

Beat all of this together until well incorporated, then add 1 cup of gf flour with 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 tablespoon dried milk, and 1/2 teaspoon salt.  You may also add in other flavors such as vanilla or spices.   If the mixture is thick, thin with a bit of milk.  If the mixture is thin, add in a bit more flour.  Depending on how runny my veg/fruit add-in, I generally use somewhere between one cup and 1 1/2 cups of flour.

Make pancakes as normal on a well-greased griddle.  Serve with jam, honey, peanut butter, syrup, etc. depending on what flavor you have going.

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Kara,
    great recipe. I’m moving few bananas in my freezer here and there for some time…(I planned to make a banana bread but I didn’t get to this point..) This seems like quicker way of using them.. Thanks!

    Reply
    • Hi Tereza,

      I know, I’m the same way. I usually find them at the very back of my freezer and need to use them up quickly. This is much faster than finding the time for banana bread…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

