RSS Feed

Dieting and money

Posted on

Why is it that dieting is always so darn expensive?  You would think that it would be cheaper since you are eating less food, but it never seems to work out that way.  Husband and I have been doing the South Beach diet this past week, and I am wiped out.  We both have a severe sweet tooth, so breaking that addiction is very helpful for us, but I have a hard time eating so much meat and eggs.  We’ve had eggs everyday for breakfast, which works out to fourteen eggs a week per person!  I feel a bit foolish really, but it is only for a few weeks, and then I can’t take it anymore.  I need my fruit and oatmeal back (and fewer eggs).

I generally don’t actually go on a diet, unless I really need to, for instance if I am carrying around post-pregnancy weight or, ahem, post-dissertation weight.  I usually find that eating just a bit less and climbing a few more stairs works out well for me.  However, Husband is really in need of a dieting jumpstart, so I agreed to go along with it.  I will go back to regular eating sooner than he will, but sacrificing together through these first few weeks seems to really help.

My only Double Dip Monday thought is that it is much easier and cheaper to go on a South Beach-like diet in the summer when fresh veggies and meat are cheaper and more abundant.  Doing it in the dead of winter is financially foolhardy, but, as Husband says, it’s hard to put a price on something if it improves your health…

About Kara

I am what happens when you combine a WWII enthusiast, an environmentalist and a frugal celiac/coeliac.

2 responses »

  1. I am a South Beach Diet drop out. So many eggs and cheese and meat and veggies and nothing else. Ugh. I did better on the 17-Day Diet, but then dropped out of that one too. Thanks for stopping by my blog and good luck with the diet.

    Reply
    • I know. Eggs, meat, repeat. It’s ok for me because I’m used to not being able to eat things since I’m GF, and getting rid of sugar helps, but I can’t hack it for very long. Thanks for the well wishes…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

