Summer tomato salad

Posted on

It’s Friday, thankfully, but my computer is running quite slow today. I am just going to post a quick tomato salad to go with all those beautiful fresh tomatoes out now.

For each person, choose a medium size tomato. Wash, core, and slice into manageable slices. Place into serving bowl and top with salt and pepper to taste. Drizzle with a nice olive oil (the one you cook with might work, but please taste it first), then sprinkle with chopped fresh parsley or basil, depending on what else you are serving, and serve.

This salad relies on two ingredients for it’s simplicity and beauty – gorgeous, ripe tomatoes and a good olive oil. I usually will only make this salad in the summer when the tomatoes are at their best.  Similarly, I usually will also only make this with my small bottle of really good olive oil.  It is yummy though, and fleeting.  It won’t keep long at all, so plan carefully and eat as much as you can.

Leave a comment